Skip to main content

Mercantile Marine—Merchant Seamen Deserters

Volume 228: debated on Monday 1 May 1876

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Under Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, If he has any objection to name those Foreign Countries with which Treaties exist for the apprehension of Deserters from ships under the British Flag?

Arrangements, Sir, in the shape of Treaties, Conventions, Agreements, Declarations, or Notes, exist between this country and the following foreign Powers for the mutual surrender of merchant seamen deserters:—Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Chili, Colombia, Denmark, France, Greece, Hanse Towns, Honduras, Italy, Madagascar, Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Oldenburg, Peru, Portugal, Prussia, Russia, Salvador, Sandwich Islands, Siam, Spain, Sweden, Tunis, Turkey.