Skip to main content

Constitution Of The Board Of Trade

Volume 91: debated on Friday 15 March 1901

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

I beg to ask the President of the Board of Trade whether he can state who are the members of the Board of Trade, excluding the Advisory or Consultative Committee, and irrespective of permanent officials; whether those Members of the Board attend meetings, and how many such meetings have been held since he became president; and whether he can state what functions those Members are called upon to exercise.

The "Board of Trade" means the Lords of the Committee for the time being of the Privy Council appointed for the consideration of matters relating to trade and foreign plantations. Under an Order in Council of 1786 these Lords include:—The Lord Archbishop of Canterbury, the First Lord of the Treasury, the First Lord of the Admiralty, His Majesty's Principal Secretary of State, the Chancellor of the Exchequer, the Speaker of the House of Commons, and such Lords as hold the following offices, namely: the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, and the Paymaster General of His Majesty's Forces. It is not customary to summon a meeting of all these members.

The Board of Trade does meet. The quorum consists of one—myself.*