Skip to main content


Volume 91: debated on Tuesday 19 March 1901

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

Beer Bill

Petitions in favour, from Leighton: Liverpool; and Coates; to lie upon the Table.

Elementary Education (Higher Grade And Evening Continuation Schools)

Petitions for alteration of Law, from Scarborough; Barnsley; land National Union of Teachers; to lie upon the Table.

Licensing (Sale Of Intoxicating Liquors)

Petitions for alteration of Law, from Warbleton; and Midhurst; to lie upon the Table.

Liquor Traffic Local Veto (Scotland) Bill

Petition from Duniper Green, in favour: to lie upon the Table.

Parliamentary Franchise

Petitions for extension to women, from Manchester; Birmingham and other places; and Women Workers in the Cotton Factories of Lancashire: to lie upon the Table.

Poor Law Officers' Superannuation Act, 1896

Petition from Isle of Wight, against alteration of Law; to lie upon the Table.

Petitions for alteration of Law, from Erith; and Thorn hill; to lie upon the Table.

Sale Of Intoxicating Liquors On Sunday Bill

Petitions in favour, from Redhill;. and Guildford; to lie upon the Table.

Sale Of Intoxicating Liquors To Children Bill

Petitions in favour, from Sheffield (forty-one); East Renfrewshire (two); Mossley; Bainbridge; North Shields;: Bampton; Birmingham (eleven); Hands-worth; Inverness (eleven); Sparkhill; Droylsden; Tiverton; Goole; South London; Plymouth; (three); Kings-wood; Tottenham; Redditch; Edinburgh (eleven); Burslem; London (four); Glasgow (twelve); Chorley; Upper Holloway; Frant; Manchester (two); Liverpool (eighteen); Rotherham;: Knighton; Motherwell (three); Eastbourne; Ealing Dean; Margate; Shrewsbury; West Kensington; Blooms-bury; Walworth (two); Ticehurst; Kennington (two); Brixton Hill; Chernside West; Heaton Mersey; York;. Leeds (thirteen); Tiverton-on-Avon;. Camberwell (three); Peckham (two);, Stratford; West Ham; Ashurst;. Brighton; Chailey (two); North Taw-ton (two); Torry; Birkenhead (three);. Lewes (two); Withington (three); Clapham (three); Elgin; Bishops Stortford (three) ; Leytonstone (twelve); Forest Gate; Bath; Harrow Green; Pollokshaws; Winchester; Bristol (seven); Llandyssiliogogo (two); Wheatley Hill (two); Cilfynydd; Penzance;

Cardigan; Littlehampton; Farnham; Ecclesall; Kenton; Salisbury; Falkirk (two); Clynder Rosneath: Newquay; Wylye; St. Ives (four): Woodhouse Hill"; Elland; Hanwell; Rastrick; Abernethy; Gloucetser (two); Lanark (two); Brockley; Lambeth: Wilmslow: Woodford Green; Muirhead: Penpont; Garston (two); Mile End; Portswood: Harrow; Penycae; Lockerbie; Lewis-ham; Pudsey Valley; Hohn: Dalkeith; Bradford; Stockport: Dartford; Ashwater; Llanfyllin (four); Grantown-on-Spey; Old Machar; Ivybridge; Peterhead; Sparkbrook (two); North Kensington; Deptford (two): Worcester: Wilmslow; Pagham; Tranent; Brad-ford-on-Avon; Corsham (two); Bathgate; Kilburn; Machynlleth; Oldham; Finsbury; Bradford (Yorks.) (five); Great Lumley; Queen's Park,; Huntingdon; Croydon (eighteen); Maldon; West Croydon (three); South Norwood (two); Woodside; Thornton Heath (three); Norwood; Upper Norwood (four); Upper Caterham; Staly-bridge; Maidenhead; Reach: Baildon; Lee; Market Lavington; South Petherton; Taunton (three); Dublin; Wishaw; School Board for London; Staines; Tockwith; Cambridge; Fulbourn; Leicester (fourteen); East Lambeth; Chesterton; Bridgwater (two); Sack-more; Exford; Brixton (two): Altrincham; Clitheroe; Cubitt Town; Tenby Derby; Grifithstown; Washford; Rugby; Banff; Dunfermline; Hare-court; Bridlington; Morley (three); Watchet; Old Kent Road; Wolverhampton (two); Rushden; Waterhouses (two); Penrhyn; Durham (three): Delton: Wellington; Willenhall; Short Heath; New Brancepeth (five); Tudhoe Colliery (three); Highworth; Aberdeen (two); Seaford; Brandon Colliery; Ripley; Middleton (eight); Thirsk; Barwick-in-Elmet; Nicklefield; Uddingstone; Stockwell; Cottingley; South Nuffield; Red Hill (three); Greenock (two) Mil-torn; Ossett (two); Shotts; Milton; St. Just; Scarborough (three); Higham; Criccieth; Watford; Knaresborough (two); Pateley Bridge; Cilcain; Lennen Cramlington Colliery (two); North Seaton; Winchester; Chesterfield (five); Norton; Appledore (two); Penrith; Sheerness (two); Langwarthby; Newbiggin; Stainton; Wigton; (two): Kes-

wick; Anfield; Newmains; Malvern (two); Northumberland; Great Malvern; Llanllwchaiarn (two); Gulval; Hey moor; Tregavra; Long Rock; Penzance (ten); Mousehole; Marazion; New Mill: Melksham; Ysbytty Ifan; Deiniolen: Hipperholme; Marple (two); Hyde Town; Brimingtou (three); Whittington Moor; Ryton-on-Tyne; Birtley: Royton (three); Oldham; Leith: Brampton; Aberchirder; Nymps-field: Stroud (three); Nailsworth; Heanor (two): Stonehouse; Charfield; Barnsley (four); Woodchester; Dolwyddelan; Radeliffe (three); Halton Lea Gate: Cromhall; Cotlessie; New burgh; Farnworth (twelve); Llandudno (two); Kensal Town: Kirkdale; Penmaenmawr (nine): Dwygyfylchi (two); Houghton le-Spring; Tavistock; Dewsbury; Milnrow (two): Denton; Sandiacre (three); Batley: Whitefield; Long Eaton; Hols-worthy (two); Frodsham; Edmonton; Dulwich; Kidderminster (three); Ilkeston (two); Partick; Haltwhistle; Darlington; Droylsden; Bolton (four); Swindon; Langley Moor (two); Brandon, Colliery (three); Esh Winning; Stonehaven: Upholland; Ormskirk; and Browney Colliery; to lie upon the Table.

Sale Of Intoxicating Liquors To Children (Scotland) Bill

Petitions in favour, from Ayr (four); Stonehaven; Saltoun; Campbeltown (two): Govan (two); Perth (three);: Harthill: Bowmore; Sanquhar; Newburgh; Wick; Edinburgh (three); Ceres: Craigneuk; Motherwell; Airdrie Kilbrandon and Kilchattan; Dalziel (two); Cupar; Rothes; Dunfermline;: Forres: Strathaven; Dunbar; Carluke (two): Broughty Ferry; Douglas; Ecclefechan (two); Kirriemuir; Thorn-hill; Dalkeith; Peterhead; Marnoch (two): Thurso: Bathgate; Eastwood; Glasgow (three); Stornoway; Largs (two); Renton; Cromarty (three); Brae-mar; Kelso; Peebles (three); Saltcoats;: Helensburgh: Morebattle; Fraserburgh; Stonehaven; Alloa; Rutherglen; Dalmuir; Blairgowrie; Clydebank; Dunfermline; Dennistown; Lanarkshire; Caldercruix (two); Shotts; Ardessier; Blantyre; Tain (two); Fountainbridge; Partick; and Dunoon; to lie upon the Table.

Sovereign's Oath On Accession Bill

Petition from Inverkeithing, against; to lie upon the Table.

Sunday Closing (Wales) Act (1881) Amendment Bill

Petition from Cilfynydd, in favour; to lie upon the Table.


Petition from Bristol, for prohibition; to lie upon the Table.