Skip to main content

Mandated Territories

Volume 161: debated on Wednesday 14 March 1923

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Under-Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs the names of all foreign colonies or possessions lost by Germany as the result of the War of 1914; and the names of the nations now possessing or administering those colonies or possessions, respectively?

As a result of the recent War, Germany lost the undermentioned colonies and possessions. These are now being administered by the countries indicated, under Mandates from the League of Nations, the dates of the Mandates being given in each case.


  • German East Africa.—(Great Britain, 20th July, 1922. Belgium, 20th July, 1922.)
  • German South-west Africa.— (Union of South Africa, 17th December, 1920.)
  • Cameroons.—(Great Britain, 20th July, 1922. France, 20th July, 1922.)
  • Togoland.—(Great Britain, 20th July, 1922. France, 20th July, 1922.)

Pacific Ocean.

  • German New Guinea (including Solomon Islands and Bismarck Archipelago).—(Commonwealth of Australia, 17th December, 1920.)
  • German Samoa.—(Dominion of New Zealand, 17th December, 1920.)
  • Nauru Island.—(Commonwealth of Australia, 17th December, 1920.)
  • Caroline, Pelew (Palau), Mariana (or Ladrone), Brown, and Providence Islands.—(Japan, 17th December, 1920.)

In addition, Kiaochow, a 99 years' lease of which Germany obtained from China in March, 1898, has now been returned to the latter country