Skip to main content

Tibet (British Official Residents)

Volume 235: debated on Wednesday 26 February 1930

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs the names of any British official residents in Tibet; and whether His Majesty's Foreign Office deals direct with them or through the Chinese authorities?

The only British official residents in Tibet are the British Trade Agents at Gyantse and Yatung. These appointments are held by officers serving under the Government of India which deals with them direct. According to the latest information available, the present incumbents are respectively Captain E. W. Fletcher and Captain D. R. Smith.