Skip to main content

Commercial Diplomatic Officers

Volume 236: debated on Monday 17 March 1930

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Secretary to the Overseas Trade Department which countries in Europe are without a commercial counsellor appointed by his Department?

The following are the countries in Europe to which at present no commercial diplomatic officers are appointed:—

  • Albania.
  • Baltic States (Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania).
  • Bulgaria.
  • Finland.
  • Switzerland.
In the case of Denmark and Portugal, in each country an officer combines the duties of Consul and Commercial Secretary. It is proposed shortly to appoint a Commercial Secretary in Switzerland and Finland, respectively. The officer appointed to the latter post will also be available if required for travelling in the Baltic States.