Skip to main content

Vagrancy Committees

Volume 245: debated on Thursday 20 November 1930

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Minister of Health how many statutory committees are now organised in connection with vagrancy and which counties are still unorganised?

Eighteen statutory orders have been issued constituting vagrancy committees covering 43 administrative counties and 67 county boroughs. Proposals in more or less advanced stages for five more committees covering 11 administrative counties and 16 county boroughs are under consideration. So far as I am aware, the councils of the seven following counties are not at present giving active consideration to proposals for combination: Cambridge, Cornwall, Dorset, Isle of Ely, Hunts, Isle of Wight and Wilts.