Skip to main content

Aeronautical Research Council

Volume 409: debated on Wednesday 11 April 1945

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Minister of Aircraft Production whether he can now state the future constitution of the Aeronautical Research Committee.

Yes, Sir, the Aeronautical Research Committee will, as from 1st April, be known as the Aeronautical Research Council. The Council will consist of 14 members of whom eight (including the Chairman) will be non-official members. I am circulating in the OFFICIAL REPORT the terms of reference of the Council and the names of the members.

Could the right hon. and learned Gentleman say whether this new Council is a Departmental Council, or an extra-Departmental Committee, as recommended by Sir Henry Tizard?

It consists of a majority of non-official members and, therefore, it is in that sense extra-Departmental.

Following are the terms of reference and names of the members:

  • 1. To advise the Minister responsible on scientific problems relating to aeronautics.
  • 2. To keep under review the progress of aeronautical research and to advise the Minister on the programme and the planning o' aeronautical research carried out for the Government of the United Kingdom.
  • 3. From time to time, to make recommendations to the Minister on research which the Council considers it desirable to initiate.
  • 4. When requested to do so, to tender advice upon any research carried out by or on behalf of the aeronautical industry.
  • 5. Subject to the needs of security, to make the results of British research generally available, by the publication of research reports.
  • 6. To advise upon aeronautical education in the United Kingdom in so far as it is relevant to research.
  • 7. To maintain contact with similar bodies or institutions in the Dominions and foreign countries.
  • 8. To make an annual report to the Minister.
  • Non-Official Members

    Sir Melville Jones, C.B.E, A.F.C., M.A., F.R.S., F.R.Ae.S. ( Chairman). Professor L. Bairstow, C.B,E., D.Sc., F.R.S., F.R.Ae.S.

    Dr. D. R. Pye C.B., M.A., Sc.D., F.R.S., F.R.Ae.S. Sir William Stanier, M.I.Mech.E. Sir Geoffrey Taylor, M.A., F.R.S. Dr. H. Roxbee-Cox, F.R.Ae.S., D.I.C. Dr. S. Goldstein, M.A., F.R.S. Dr. A. G. Pugsley, O.B.E., A.M.I.Struct E., A.F.R.Ae.S.


    Director of Scientific Research, Admiralty. Representatives of the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research and of the National Physical Laboratory. Director-General of Scientific Research and Development, M. of Supply. Director of the Royal Aircraft Establishment. Director of Scientific Research, Ministry of Aircraft Production.