Skip to main content

International Refugee Organisation

Volume 436: debated on Monday 28 April 1947

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs what progress has been made in setting up the International Refugee Organisation to deal with the 750,000 displaced persons in Europe.

The International Refugee Organisation cannot come into being until at least 15 Governments, whose combined contributions must amount to not less than 75 per cent. of the budget, have signed and ratified its Constitution. I regret to say that so far only 12 Governments have signed, and their total contributions amount only to 70.24 per cent. The Preparatory Commission of the International Refugee Organisation is to meet again in Switzerland on 1st May, and the problem will no doubt be further discussed there.

May I ask what Governments of big countries have refused to cooperate so far?

Will the UnderSecretary publish the names of the countries which have already agreed?

The countries which have signed the Constitution are Canada, the Dominican Republics, France, Guatemala, Honduras, Liberia, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Norway, the Philippines, the United Kingdom and the United States.