Skip to main content

Colonial Defence Forces

Volume 436: debated on Wednesday 30 April 1947

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies what Colonies maintain or do not maintain local defence forces.

Full time local forces are at present maintained in East and West Africa, Aden, Ceylon, Malayan Union, Gibraltar, Malta, Palestine, Jamaica, Trinidad, Barbados and the Leeward Islands. In addition certain pioneer and transport companies raised in Cyprus, Mauritius and the Seychelles are serving in the Middle East. The local forces in British Honduras and British Guiana are in process of demobilisation.

Can the Minister give an assurance that the importance of these forces will be continually kept in mind?