Skip to main content

Betting (Royal Commission)

Volume 463: debated on Thursday 14 April 1949

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Prime Minister whether he is now in a position to announce the names of the members of the Royal Commission on Lotteries. Betting and Gaming.

Yes, Sir. As I informed the House on Thursday, 10th February, 1949, the Chairman of this Royal Commission will be Mr. H. U. Willink, K.C. The King has now been pleased to approve the appointment of the following members of the Commission:

  • Mr. James Campbell.
  • Sir Gerald Bain Canny, K.C.B., K.B.E.
  • Sir Eric Gore-Brown, D.S.O., O.B.E., T.D.
  • Professor Herbert Arthur Hodges, M.A., D.Phil.
  • Colonel Evan Austen Hunter, C.B.E.
  • Professor John Jewkes, C.B.E.
  • Mr. Ivor Jones.
  • Miss Margaret Kidd, K.C.
  • Sir Eric Charles MiĆ©ville, G.C.I.E., K.C.V.O., C.S.I., C.M.G.
  • Mrs. Elsie Parker.
  • Mr. Herbert Sutcliffe.
  • Mr. Frank Wolstencroft, C.B.E.

In view of the fact that the Chancellor has postponed the question of taxing betting and that in the meantime the incidence of taxation as between, for example, horseracing and greyhound racing is most unfair, will the Prime Minister do what he can to expedite the work of this Commission?

We cannot expedite the work of the Commission. The Commission must take the proper time and that is not my responsibility.

How many of the members of the Commission know anything about betting conditions in Scotland?

Will my right hon. Friend circulate in the OFFICIAL REPORT the details of the past official connections of the members of the Commission?