Skip to main content

Capital Punishment (Royal Commission)

Volume 464: debated on Thursday 28 April 1949

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Prime Minister if he will now announce the names of the Members of the Royal Commission on Capital Punishment.

I have been asked to reply. Yes, Sir. As my right hon. Friend, the Prime Minister, informed the House on Thursday, 20th January, 1949, the Chairman of the Royal Commission on Capital Punishment will be Sir Ernest Gowers, G.B.E., K.C.B. The King has now been pleased to approve the appointment of the following members of the Commission:

  • Mrs. Elizabeth Dorothea Cole Cameron, C.B.E. (As a writer, known as Elizabeth Bowen),
  • Mr. Norman Roy Fox-Andrews, K.C.,
  • Miss Florence Hancock, C.B.E.,
  • Mr. William Jones, C.B.E.,
  • Mr. Horace Macdonald,
  • Mr. John Mann, C.B.E., J.P.,
  • Sir Alexander Maxwell, G.C.B., K.B.E.,
  • Professor George Allison Montgomery, K.C.,
  • Earl Peel,
  • Professor Leon Radzinowicz and
  • Dr. Eliot Slater.

Is the right hon. Gentleman satisfied that the Commission embodies sufficient practical experience? Has any of these ladies and gentlemen ever served a commuted death sentence?