Skip to main content

Sub-Offices, Norfolk

Volume 464: debated on Wednesday 4 May 1949

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Postmaster-General how many sub-post offices in the County of Norfolk are temporarily closed, and in which villages; and what steps he is taking to have such sub-post offices re-opened.

I much regret that 19 village sub-post offices closed temporarily at various dates since the commencement of the last war remain closed because it has been impossible so far to fill the vacant sub-postmasterships. Every effort to find suitable candidates continues. Following is the list of closed sub-post offices: Brackon Ash, Burlingham, Earsham, Great Fransham, Haveringland, Old Walsingham, Raveningham, Scottow, Scratby, Sparham, Starston, Stradsett, Strumpshaw, Swannington, Tattersett, Thuxton, Upper Sheringham, Weston, White Horse Common.