Skip to main content

Medical Auxiliaries (Committees)

Volume 465: debated on Thursday 19 May 1949

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Minister of Health whether he will review the recruitment qualifications and training of medical auxiliaries engaged in the National Health Service.

Yes. The Secretary of State for Scotland and I are setting up a series of committees to consider these questions and advise us in relation to almoners, chiropodists, dietitians, laboratory technicians, occupational therapists, physiotherapists, radiographers and speech therapists. I am glad to say that Mr. V. Zachary Cope, M.D., M.S., F.R.C.S., has consented to act as chairman of all these committees. The other members so far appointed are as follows:(

a) Members common to all the committees

  • Dr. G. A. Clark, V.D., M.D. (Ministry of Health),
  • Mr. A. B. Taylor (Department of Health for Scotland).

( b) Members of individual committees Almoners:

  • Dr. F. Grundy, M.D., D.P.H.,
  • Miss M. M. McInnes,
  • Miss M. J. Roxburgh, and one other.


  • Mr. St. J. D. Buxton, F.R.C.S.,
  • Miss D. Grant Nisbet,
  • Miss C. F. Norrie,
  • Dr. J. A. Scott, O.B.E., M.D., D.P.H.


  • Miss M. C. Broatch,
  • Prof. S. J. Cowell, F.R.C.P.,
  • Dr. D. P. Cuthbertson, M.D., F.R.S.E.,
  • Dr. G. Graham, M.D., F.R.C.P.,
  • Miss R. Pybus, O.B.E.

Laboratory Technicians:

  • Mr. T. C. Dodds,
  • Mr. A. Norman,
  • Dr. G. S. Wilson, M.D., F.R.C.P., D.P.H., and two others.

Occupational Therapists:

  • Miss M. D. Barr,
  • Miss E. M. Macdonald,
  • Mr. L. W. Plewes, M.D., F.R.C.S.,
  • Dr. T. P. Rees, M.D., D.P.M.


  • Mr. J. T. Buchan,
  • Mr. J. M. C. Colson,
  • Dr. J. L. Livingstone, M.D., F.R.C.P.,
  • Miss M. I. V. Mann,
  • Miss M. V. Sharpe,
  • Mr. T. T. Stamm, F.R.C.S.,
  • Dr. W. Tegner, M.R.C.P.


  • Dr. S. C. Shanks, M.D., F.R.C.P., F.F.R.,
  • Prof. G. Stead, D.Sc.,
  • Mr. C. Lovell Stiles, Mr. R. White,
  • Prof. B. W. Windeyer, F.R.C.S., F.F.R., D.M.R.E.

Speech Therapists:

  • Dr. E. J. Boome, M.R.C.P., D.P.H.,
  • Dr. J. B. Gaylor, F.R.F.P.S.,
  • Mr. V. E. Negus, M.S., F.R.C.S.,
  • Dr. C. C. Worster-Drought, M.D., F.R.C.P., and one other.

The secretary of all the committees is Mr. J. G. Paterson of the Ministry of Health, to whom all inquiries and correspondence should be sent.