Skip to main content

Protected States

Volume 465: debated on Thursday 2 June 1949

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies whether Johore, Kedah, Perlis, Kelantan, Trengganu, Brunei, are regarded by the British Government as Protectorates, Sultanates or Colonies.

They are Protected States. Their Rulers are styled "Sultan" with the exception of the Ruler of Perlis, who has the title of Raja.