Skip to main content

Teachers (Advisory Council)

Volume 465: debated on Thursday 2 June 1949

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Minister of Education whether he has now completed his arrangements for setting up a National Advisory Council on the Training and Supply of Teachers.

Yes. I am glad to be able to announce that the National Advisory Council on the Training and Supply of Teachers has been set up to keep under review national policy on (a) the training and conditions of qualification of teachers; and (b) the recruitment and distribution of teachers in ways best calculated to meet the needs of the schools or other educational establishments. The Council will not be concerned with teachers' superannuation or teachers' salaries, or with any other matters which affect their conditions of employment. The Council will have two Standing Committees, one to deal with training and qualifications and the other to deal with recruitment and distribution. I hope that the Council will have its first meeting in July. The Council has been constituted as follows:


  • Sir Philip Morris, C.B.E., Vice-Chancellor of the University of Bristol.

County Councils' Association

  • Mr. A. L. Binns, C.B.E., M.C.
  • Sir Samuel Gurney-Dixon, J.P.
  • Professor J. Jones.
  • Dr. E. Stephens.

Association of Municipal Corporations

  • Alderman J. Hargrave.
  • Mr. Stanley Moffett, M.C.
  • Mr. E. L. Russell.
  • Alderman F. C. Williams.

Association of Education Committees

  • Dr. W. P. Alexander.
  • Mr. F. Barraclough.
  • Alderman H. Cropper, O.B.E., J.P.
  • Alderman Wright Robinson, J.P.

London County Council

  • Mrs. Helen C. Bentwich.
  • Sir Graham Savage, C.B.

Joint Education Committee for Wales

  • Mr. H. Wyn Jones.
  • Alderman Reverend W. Degwell Thomas.

National Union of Teachers

  • Miss S. C. Bertie.
  • Mr. Ronald Gould.
  • Mr. W. Griffith.
  • Mrs. E. V Parker.
  • Mr. I. Gwynne Recs.
  • Mr. C. A. Roberts.

Joint Committee of the Four Secondary Associations

  • Miss O. M. Hastings.
  • Mr. A. E. Nichols.

Association of Teachers in Technical Institutions.

Mr. A. E. Evans.

Association of Teachers in Colleges and Departments of Education

  • Mr. A. E. Dean, C.B.E.
  • Dr. F. W. Land.
  • Dr. R. W. Rich.
  • Mrs. E. M. Williams.

Area Training Organisations

  • Six members to be nominated by representatives of the Area Training Organisations.


  • Mr. C. R. Morris.
  • Mrs. J. L. Stocks.

Appointed by the Minister of Education

  • Sir Walter Moberly, K.C.B., D.S.O.

The Minister of Education has appointed the following to serve on the Council as assessors:

  • Sir William Cleary, K.B.E., C.B.
  • Sir Griffith Williams, K.B.E., C.B.
  • Sir Martin Roseveare, S.C.I.
  • Mr. G. N. Flemming, C.B.
  • Mr. R. N. Heaton.