Skip to main content

Emergency Regulations (Committee)

Volume 467: debated on Tuesday 12 July 1949

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

I am now able to announce the names of the members of the Emergency Committee which I am setting up under the Emergency Regulations, 1949. The Chairman of the Committee is Sir Alexander Maxwell, lately Permanent Under-Secretary of State at the Home Office. The other members are Mr. C. N. Gallie, Sir Thomas Gardiner, Sir Frederick Leggett, and Mr. W. G. Weston. The Committee will be responsible for discharging the duties set out in the Regulations.

Division No. 207.]


[3.40 p.m.

Adams, Richard (Balham)Colman, Miss G. M.Gooch, E. G.
Albu, A. H.Cook, T. F.Greenwood, Rt. Hon. A. (Wakefield)
Allen, A. C. (Bosworth)Cooper, G.Greenwood, A. W. J. (Heywood)
Allen, Scholefield (Crewe)Cripps, Rt Hon. Sir S.Grenfell, D. R.
Alpass, J. H.Crossman, R. H. S.Grey, C. F.
Anderson, F. (Whitehaven)Cullen, Mrs.Grierson, E.
Attewell, H. C.Daggar, G.Griffiths, D. (Rother Valley)
Austin, H. LewisDaines, P.Griffiths, Rt. Hon. J. (Llanelly)
Awbery, S. S.Davies, Edward (Burslem)Griffiths, W. D. (Moss Side)
Ayles, W. H.Davies, Ernest (Enfield)Haire, John E. (Wycombe)
Bacon, Miss A.Davies, Harold (Leek)Hall, Rt. Hon. Glenvil
Balfour, A.Davies, Haydn (St. Pancras, S. W.)Hamilton, Lieut.-Col. R.
Barnes, Rt Hon. A. J.Deer, G.Hardy, E. A.
Barton, C.Delargy, H. J.Harrison, J.
Battley, J. R.Dobbie, W.Henderson, Joseph (Ardwick)
Bechervaise, A. E.Dodds, N. N.Herbison, Miss M.
Benson, G.Driberg, T. E. N.Hewitson, Capt M.
Binns, J.Dugdale, J. (W. Bromwich)Holman, P.
Blyton, W. R.Dumpleton, C. W.Holmes, H. E. (Hemsworth)
Boardman, H.Dye, S.Houghton, A. L. N. D.
Bottomley, A. G.Ede, Rt. Hon. J. C.Hoy, J.
Brook, D. (Halifax)Edelman, M.Hughes, Emrys (S. Ayr)
Brooks, T. J. (Rothwell)Edwards, John (Blackburn)Hughes, Hector (Aberdeen, N.)
Broughton, Dr. A. D. D.Edwards, Rt. Hon. N. (Caerphilly)Hughes, H. D. (W'lverh'ton, W.)
Brown, George (Belper)Edwards, W. J. (Whitechapel)Hynd, H. (Hackney, C.)
Brown, T. J. (Ince)Evans, John (Ogmore)Irvine, A. J. (Liverpool)
Bruce, Maj. D. W. T.Evans, S. N. (Wednesbury)Irving, W. J. (Tottenham, N.)
Burks, W. A.Ewart, R.Isaacs, Rt. Hon. G. A.
Byers, FrankFairhurst, F.Janner, B.
Callaghan, JamesFarthing, W. J.Jay, D. P. T.
Carmichael, JamesFletcher, E. G. M. (Islington, E.)Jeger, G. (Winchester)
Castle, Mrs. B. A.Follick, M.Jenkins, R. H.
Chamberlain, R. A.Foot, M. M.Jones, D. T. (Hartlepool)
Champion, A. J.Forman, J. C.Keenan, W.
Chetwynd, G. R.Fraser, T. (Hamilton)Kenyon, C.
Cluse, W. S.Freeman, J. (Watford)Key, Rt. Hon. C. W.
Cocks, F. S.Freeman, Peter (Newport)King, E. M.
Coldrick, W.Ganley, Mrs. C. S.Kinley, J.
Collindridge, F.Gilzean, A.Kirby, B. V.
Collins, V. J.Glanville, J. E. (Consett)Kirkwood, Rt. Hon. D.

In view of the fact that the Smithfield branch of the Transport and General Workers' Union this morning decided they would not handle meat brought to the market by the troops, is it the Minister's intention to extend the function of this new Committee to cover Smithfield?

I would suggest that we do not anticipate difficulties of this kind. They can legitimately be considered in the general Debate tomorrow.

Has the Minister taken very great care to see that no Communists have got on that Committee?