Skip to main content

Income Tax Commissioners, East Bucklow

Volume 478: debated on Wednesday 25 October 1950

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer if he will give the names, ages and qualifications of the present members of the Commissioners of Income Tax for the Bucklow East, Division of Chester; the length of time each has served in his present appointment the annual salaries paid; and the individual expenses reimbursed during the last two years.

I circulate below the names of the General Commissioners for this division and the dates on which they were appointed. I have no information about their ages. The qualifications of General Commissioners are laid down in Section 65 and the Third Schedule of the Income Tax Act, 1918. No salaries or expenses are payable to them.

Following is the list:

  • James Blakey.
  • Harry Lomax.
  • E. F. Pilkington.
  • Norman Cowell.
  • Arthur W. Cowburn.
  • William Proctor Smith.
  • Robert Alan Boddington.

The appointment of Mr. James Blakey as Commissioner was notified to the Board of Inland Revenue in 1934; those of the other Commissioners in 1946.