Skip to main content

Genocide Convention (Ratifications)

Volume 478: debated on Wednesday 25 October 1950

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs what Governments have ratified the Convention on Genocide and when he intends to ask Parliament to take similar action.

The following countries have now ratified or acceded to the Genocide Convention: Australia, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Ceylon, Costa Rica, Ecuador. Ethiopia, France, Guatemala, Haiti, Iceland, Israel, Jordan, Korea, Liberia, Monaco, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, Viet-Nam, Yugoslavia, El Salvador.Since the Debate on the Adjournment of 18th May, a further serious point of international law has been raised by certain signatures, ratifications and accessions to this Convention with reservations attached. These reservations derogate in important aspects from the Convention as drafted and, until the effect of such conditional accessions has been clarified, His Majesty's Government will be unable to take a decision. This matter is at present under discussion in the Sixth Committee of the General Assembly.