Skip to main content


Volume 498: debated on Wednesday 9 April 1952

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Minister of Food the location of slaughterhouses in Scotland; and what proposals he has to add to their number.

I have no record of all the licensed slaughterhouses in Scotland, but my Department is using slaughterhouses at the undermentioned places. I have no proposals at present to add to the number we are now using.

  • Aberdeenshire: Aberdeen, Fraserburgh, Inverurie, Peterhead, Turriff.
  • Angus: Arbroath, Brechin, Dundee, Forfar. Montrose.
  • Argyllshire: Campbeltown, Dunoon Oban.
  • Ayrshire: Ayr, Girvan, Kilmarnock, Kilwinning, Largs.
  • Caithness: Thurso, Wick.
  • Clackmannanshire: Alloa.
  • Dunbartonshire: Dumbarton.
  • Dumfriesshire: Annan, Dumfries, Eastriggs, Lockerbie, Racks, Thornhill.
  • East Lothian: Haddington, North Berwick.
  • Fifeshire: Anstruther, Buckhaven, Cowdenbeath, Cupar.
  • Lanarkshire: Bellshill, Biggar, Coatbridge, Glasgow, Hamilton, Lanark, Larkhall, Mother-well, Shotts, Strathaven, Symington, Wishaw.
  • Midlothian: Dalkeith, Edinburgh.
  • Morayshire: Elgin, Forres, Grantown-on-Spey.
  • Nairn: Nairn.
  • Renfrewshire: Greenock, Johnstone, Paisley.
  • Ross and Cromarty: Dingwall, Invergordon, Stornoway, Tain.
  • Roxburghshire: Hawick, Kelso.
  • Selkirkshire: Galashiels.
  • Stirlingshire: Falkirk, Stirling.

used in the manufacture of home-produced cheese and condensed milk, respectively, for the years 1950 and 1951; and what proportion, in each case, the quantity so used bears to the total milk production.

Milk used in the manufacture of home-produced cheese and condensed milk in the years 1950 and 1951:

  • Sutherland: Dornoch.
  • West Lothian: Armadale, Linlithgow.
  • Ayrshire: Saltcoats, Troon.
  • Banffshire: Banff, Buckie, Dufftown, Keith.
  • Berwickshire: Duns.
  • Bute: Rothesay.
  • Fifeshire: Dunfermline, Kirkcaldy, Lochgelly, Markinch, St. Andrews.
  • Inverness-shire: Fort William, Inverness.
  • Kincardineshire: Banchory.
  • Kirkcudbrightshire: Castle Douglas.
  • Peeblesshire: Broughton, Peebles.
  • Perthshire: Aberfeldy, Biairgowrie, Crieff. Dunblane, Perth, Pitlochry.
  • Wigtownshire: Newton Stewart, Stranraer.