Skip to main content

Korea (Geneva Conference)

Volume 526: debated on Wednesday 7 April 1954

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs which countries are to be represented at the Geneva Conference on 26th April on the Korean and Indo-Chinese problems, respectively.

The following countries will be represented at the Geneva Conference for the discussion on Korea: Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Colombia, Ethiopia, France, Greece, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, North Korea, Philippines, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics. The Republic of Korea has not yet accepted the invitation to be present. As regards the discussion of Indo-China, there is nothing at present to add to the terms of the relevant paragraph of the Berlin communiqué.

In view of recent statements in some Russian official newspapers, will the Foreign Secretary make clear that the proposed Geneva Conference is neither a four- nor a five-Power conference, but a conference of possibly 18 or 19 Governments, as provided in the Berlin Agreement, all of whom will be on an equal footing?

There is no doubt in our minds that every Power attending the Conference will be on an equal footing.

Would the Foreign Secretary agree that this is not to be regarded as either a four- or a five-Power conference, but a conference of those specified member Governments?

I think that the terms of our communiqué were about right. I am afraid that I do not carry them in my head.