Skip to main content

University Grants Committee

Volume 530: debated on Tuesday 20 July 1954

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer who are the members of the University Grants Committee; their respective occupations and qualifications for membership; to what matters, other than general suitability, is regard had in making these appointments; and, in particular, what steps have been taken, or will be taken, to secure representation of industry, both of employers and of organised workers, on the Committee.

The present composition of the University Grants Committee is given below. While the members of the Committee are chosen to cover among them the main fields of university study as well as certain interests outside the university, they are selected for their personal qualifications and serve in a personal capacity, and not as representatives. I do not propose to make any change in this respect.

Chairman (full-time)

Dr. K. A. H. Murray. B.Sc., Ph. D., M.A., D.Litt.: Previously, Rector and Bursar: Lincoln College. Oxford.

Vice-Chairman (part-time)

Sir David Hughes-Parry, M.A., LL.M., LL.D.. D.C.L.: Professor of English Law and Director of Institute of Advance Legal Studies, in the University of London.

Members (part-time)

Dr. E. D. Adrian. O.M., M.A., M.D., F.R.C.P., P.R.S.: Master of Trinity College, Cambridge. President of the Royal Society.

Professor W. M. Arnott, T.D., B.Sc., M.D., F.R.C.P., F.R.C.P.E.: William Withering Professor of Medicine in the University of Birmingham.

Professor J. F. Baker, O.B.E., M.A., D.Sc., Sc.D., M.I.C.E.: Professor of Mechanical Sciences and Head of Department of Engineering in the University of Cambridge.

Sir George Clark. LL.D., D.Litt., P.B.A.: Provost of Oriel College, Oxford. President of the British Academy.

Professor J. W. Cook, D.Sc., Sc.D., Ph.D., F.R.S.: Regius Professor of Chemistry in the University of Glasgow.

Mr. J. C. Gridley, C.B.E.: Chairman. Vacuum Oil Co. Ltd.

Sir Geoffrey Heyworth, LL.D.: Chairman, Unilever Ltd. Member (part-time) National Coal Board.

Dr. E. J. F. James, M.A., D.Phil.: High Master, Manchester Grammar School.

Professor W. R. Niblett, B.A., B.Litt.: Professor of education in the University of Leeds.

Professor G. W. Pickering, M.B., F.R.C.P.: Professor of Medicine in the University of London and Director of Medical Clinic, St. Mary's Hospital.

Mr. E. L. Russell, C.B.E., M.A.: Chief Education Officer, City of Birmingham.

Professor H. G. Sanders, M.A., Ph.D.: Professor of Agriculture in the University of Reading.

Mrs. J. L. Stocks, B.Sc.(Econ.): Deputy President, Workers Educational Association; previously Principal Westfield College, University of London.

Professor T. E. Wright, M.A.: Professor of Humanity in the University of St. Andrews.

asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer, in view of the need to expand representation on the University Grants Committee, if he is now prepared to overhaul existing representation and submit a scheme to this House comparable with existing needs.