Skip to main content

Co-Operative Development Council, Uganda

Volume 531: debated on Wednesday 28 July 1954

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies if he will give the membership of the Co-operative Development Council of Uganda; how many times it has met since its establishment; and what significant recommendations it has made.

The council has met four times. It has made suggestions, which have been adopted, for the amendment of Protectorate legislation bearing on the work of Co-operative societies; has scrutinised the draft estimates of the Department of Co-operative Development; and it has recently set up a sub-committee to investigate the possibility of further encouraging consumer co-operatives.The composition of the council is:The Commissioner for Co-operative Development or his representative (


The Registrar of Co-operative societies.

Mr. E. W. K. Bulera: member elected by registered thrift societies.

Mr. F. C. Elliott: member elected by registered consumer societies.

Mr. C. H. S. Kyazze: member elected by the Uganda Growers' Co-operative Union, Ltd.

Mr. E. Nabwoyo: member elected by the Masaba North Co-operation Union, Ltd.

Mr. S. Kitutu: member elected by the Bubulo Co-operative Union, Ltd.

Mr. W. Wanda: member elected by the Bagisu Khuheentsa Co-operative Union, Ltd.

Mr. G. Kirenda: member elected by the Busoga Growers' Co-operative Union, Ltd.

Mr. D. B. Gema: member elected by the South Bukeda Co-operative Union, Ltd.

Mrs. F. Ngoda (née Miss F. Wamala); and Mr. B. K. Mulyanti: members appointed by the Governor.

The Senior Co-operative Officer performing the duties of accountant in the Co-operative Department (Secretary).