Skip to main content

Docks And Harbours (Committee Of Inquiry)

Volume 640: debated on Wednesday 10 May 1961

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Minister of Transport whether he is in a position to make a further statement on the Docks and Harbours Committee of Inquiry he announced on 29th March last.


asked the Minister of Transport whether he will make a further announcement about the composition of the committee which he has set up to inquire into the major docks and harbours of Great Britain.

I have now completed my appointments to this Committee. Its composition will be as follows:

  • Lord Rochdale—Chairman.
  • Mr. J. Maurice Laing, Managing Director of Messrs. John Laing & Son Ltd.
  • Mr. I. W. Macdonald. Chartered Accountant and Chairman of the National Commercial Bank of Scotland.
  • Mr. E. G. Whitaker, Transport Adviser to Messrs. Unilever Ltd.
  • Mr. Richard Wills, Managing Director of Messrs. George Wills and Sons Ltd.
  • Sir Eric Millbourn, who has been Honorary Adviser on Shipping in Port to successive Ministers of Transport, will act as Adviser to the Committee.