Skip to main content

Research And Development (Advisory Council)

Volume 640: debated on Tuesday 16 May 1961

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Minister of Power if he will appoint a committee of scientists whose duties would be to co-ordinate research and development in the whole field of energy.

My Advisory Council on Research and Development exists for this purpose. The terms of reference of the Council are:

  • 1. To advise the Minister of Power on research and development in relation to his statutory duty of securing the effective and co-ordinated development of coal, petroleum and other sources of fuel and power in Great Britain, and of promoting economy and efficiency in the supply, distribution, use and consumption of fuel and power, whether produced in Great Britain or not:
  • 2. To advise the Minister of new scientific and technical knowledge or applications of knowledge throughout the world, which in the opinion of the Council should be taken into account in the performance of his statutory duties;
  • 3. To keep the whole field of fuel and power under continuous review with the object of identifying problems needing research and development and advising the Minister of these problems with a view to discussion with the industries concerned.
  • The members of the Council are:


    • Lord Fleck, K.B.E., F.R.S.


    • Captain (E.) W. Gregson. C.B.E.


    • Mr. M. A. L. Banks, Managing Director, British Petroleum Company.
    • Dr. C. M. Cawley, C.B.E., Chief Scientist, Ministry of Power.
    • Mr. T. B. Clark, Imperial Chemical Industries Ltd.
    • Sir Josiah Eccles, C.B.E., Deputy-Chairman, Electricity Council.
    • Mr. W. K. Hutchison, C.B.E., Deputy-Chairman, Gas Council.
    • Dr. W. A. Macfarlane, C.B.E., Managing Director, National Industrial Fuel Efficiency Service.
    • Sir Harry Melville, K.C.B., F.R.S., Secretary, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research.
    • Mr. L. Rotherham, Member for Research, Central Electricity Generating Board.
    • Professor M. W. Thring, University of Sheffield.
    • Dr. F. A. Vick, O.B.E., Director, Atomic Energy Research Establishment, Harwell.
    • Mr. A. H. A. Wynn, Scientific Member, National Coal Board.