Skip to main content

Continental Coastal Trade

Volume 648: debated on Wednesday 8 November 1961

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Minister of Transport what steps he has taken, with a view to protecting British shipping interests, to ascertain which western European countries reserve their coastwise shipping trade to themselves; and if he will publish the results.

I am not aware of any formal definition of what constitutes Western Europe, but I understand that the following countries do not allow British shipping to participate in their coastal trade: Federal German Republic, Finland, France, Portugal, Spain, Turkey and Yugoslavia.