Skip to main content

Commonwealth Relations Office (Staff)

Volume 650: debated on Thursday 30 November 1961

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations in which British Colonial Territories the 14 former Colonial Service officers, who are first secretaries (principals) in the Commonwealth Relations Office, have served; and for how long and in what capacities they so served.

The details are as follows:

  • (1) Malaya, 27 years. ending as Secretary, Ministry of Labour and Social Welfare.
  • (2) Ghana, 9 years, ending as Administrative Officer, Class II.
  • (3) Ghana and Cyprus, 8 years, ending as Senior Assistant Secretary.
  • (4) Malaya, 11 years, ending as Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Interior and Justice.
  • (5) Malaya, 10 years, ending as Chairman of Border War Executive Committee.
  • (6) Malaya, 28 years, ending as Resident Commissioner, Malacca.
  • (7) Malaya and Singapore, 20 years, ending as Attorney-General, Singapore.
  • (8) Nigeria and West Indies, 27 years, ending as Civil Secretary, Northern Region of Nigeria.
  • (9) Malaya, 12 years, ending as Controller of Rubber.
  • (10) Malaya and Gambia, 6 years, ending as Financial Secretary, Gambia.
  • (11) Malaya, 7 years, ending as Administrator, Petaling Jaya.
  • (12) Ghana, Tanganyika and Cyprus, 18 years, ending as Under-Secretary in Secretariat.
  • (13) Sierra Leone, West Indies and Nigeria, 26 years, ending as Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Internal Affairs.
  • (14) Solomon Islands and Singapore, 15 years, ending as Principal Assistant Secretary, Singapore.