Skip to main content

Commonwealth Advisory Aeronautical Research Council

Volume 654: debated on Monday 19 February 1962

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Minister of Aviation if he will state the present membership of the Commonwealth Advisory Aeronautical Research Council; how many meetings of the Council's Central Secretariat were held during 1961; and when the Council itself last met.

The member countries are Australia, Canada, Ceylon, Ghana, India, Malaya, New Zealand and the United Kingdom. Six meetings of the Council's central secretariat were held in 1961. The last meeting of the Council was in September, 1959, in London.

Can the Parliamentary Secretary say whether every effort has been made to persuade the newly independent countries of the Commonwealth not mentioned in his list to join this organisation? Can he say whether there is any particular field of research in which this country is engaged in accordance with the general principles on which this organisation functions?

I cannot without notice give a detailed answer to the second part of the hon. Gentleman's supplementary question, but I can assure him that it is our policy to try to encourage newly independent members of the Commonwealth to join.