Skip to main content


Volume 722: debated on Tuesday 21 December 1965

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs which Commonwealth countries have now undertaken to impose a trade embargo with Rhodesia, and which have not.

The following Commonwealth countries have placed a complete ban on trade with Rhodesia; India, Nigeria, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Jamaica, Trinidad, Singapore and Pakistan. I understand that Ceylon is about to do the same. Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Malta and Cyprus have banned over 90 per cent. of their imports from Rhodesia. Zambia and Malawi are in a special position. The Gambia has no trade with Rhodesia. Ghana and Sierra Leone have not yet joined in the embargo.