Skip to main content

Welsh Language Council

Volume 864: debated on Thursday 15 November 1973

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Wales if he will now announce the membership of the Welsh Language Council.

I am pleased to announce that in addition to the chairman, Mr. Ben Jones, the following have accepted my invitation to become members of the Welsh Language Council:

Sir Goronwy Daniel—Principal, University College of Wales, Aberystwyth; former Permanent Under-Secretary of State, Welsh Office.
Lord Davies of Llandinam—Civil Engineer; Chairman, Council for Wales of Voluntary Youth Services.
Mr. W. Emrys Evans, Dinas Powis—South Wales Director, Midland Bank.
Mr. Trevor Fishlock, Pontyclun—author and journalist; Times correspondent on Welsh affairs.
Professor Idris LI. Foster, Carneddi, Bangor—Professor of Celtic Studies, Jesus College. Oxford.
Mr. R. E. Griffith, Aberystwyth—former Director, Urdd Gobaith Cymru.
Mr. Carwyn James—Lecturer in Welsh, Trinity College, Carmarthen.
Mr. E. Aneurin Jones—Headmaster, Lam-peter Secondary School.
Mr. Emyr Currie-Jones, Cardiff—Solicitor; Chairman-elect, South Glamorgan County Council; Member, Welsh Language Advisory Translation Panel.
Mrs. Helen E. Latham, Newport—Chairman, National Council for the Elderly in Wales; Area Chairman for South Wales, Abbeyfield Society.
Councillor W. C. Philpin, Broad Haven, Pembrokeshire—Farmer; Member, Pembrokeshire County Council; Chairman. Pembrokeshire Education Committee, Chairman, Environment aad Cultural Panel, Welsh Council.
Mr. J. E. Hugh Rees, Swansea—Chartered Surveyor, former Member of Parliament, Swansea West; Member of the Bowen Committee on Bilingual Traffic Signs.
Mrs. Ann Saer, Cardiff—Lecturer in Sociology, Llandaff College of Education (Home Economics).