Skip to main content

Forestry (Advisory Committees)

Volume 884: debated on Wednesday 22 January 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Wales if he will publish a list of names of members of the Advisory Committee on Forestry in Wales, their qualifications for membership, and the organisations they represent.

Three statutory forestry committees in Wales advise the Forestry Commission, namely, the regional advisory committees for North and South Wales respectively and the National Committee for Wales. The composition of the regional advisory committees is set out below. Members do not represent particular organisations but are appointed because of their experience in forestry, agriculture, environment and other fields—industrial relations, etc.

North Wales

B. J. Crichton (Chairman)

P. C. Ormrod

F. C. Best

N. H. Gore

L. Rowland

I. Edwards

H. Davies

V. Lloyd

J. M. Harrop

South Wales

D. G. Badham (Chairman)

B. R. Feaver

H. L. Knight

R. H. Wheelock

A. R. Llewellyn

B. Davies

Mrs. D. Walmsley

J. Walters

E. Bartlett.

The National Committee for Wales consists partly of Forestry Commissioners and senior officials in Wales, and partly of members appointed by the commission for their special interest in Welsh affairs. The members are:

  • M. L. Bourdillon (Chairman), Commissioner.
  • J. W. L. Zehetmayr, Senior Officer (Wales) and Conservator, South Wales
  • J. N. Kennedy, Conservator, North Wales.
  • R. E. Griffiths
  • T. O. Lewis
  • T. H. Owen

The Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Forestry Commission are ex officio members of the committee.