Skip to main content

Coal Production

Volume 885: debated on Tuesday 4 February 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Energy (1) if he will list the projects planned to ensure the achievement of the production of 42 million tons of coal from existing and new mines under the Tripartite Plans for Coal by the mid-1980s;(2) if he will list the 20 major schemes which he expects will yield 7 million tons of coal which are referred to in the memorandum "Coal Industry Examination Final Report 1974";(3) if he will list the improvement schemes which he envisages will yield 13 million tons of coal by 1985 referred to in the booklet "Plan for Coal";(4) if he will identify the location of the new mines which he expects to be providing 20 million tons of coal by 1985.

Further exploration, planning and appraisal is needed before all the projects which will form part of the National Coal Board's plan for coal can be listed. The board has already approved major projects which between them will provide some 8 million tons of output, at the following pits:


  • Seafield


  • Lynemouth/Ellington/
  • Easington
  • Horden/Blackhall
  • Wearmouth


  • Royston
  • Kiveton Park
  • Thurcroft
  • Dinnington

South Wales

  • Taff Merthyr/Merthyr Vale
  • Betws
  • Blaenant


  • Markham
  • Warsop
  • Blidworth
  • Allerton
  • Thoresby
  • Annesley
  • Newstead
  • Hem Heath/Florence
  • Littleton


  • Silverdale
  • Haig


  • Snowdown

Of the projects listed, Royston and Betws are new mines. The NCB has applied for planning permission for a new mine at Selby which would produce 10 million tons per annum by the mid-1980s. The application is subject to a public inquiry which is due to start on 2nd April.