Skip to main content

Violence In Marriage

Volume 886: debated on Tuesday 11 February 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.


That a Select Committee be appointed to consider the extent, nature and causes of the problems of families where there is violence between the partners or where children suffer non-accidental injury; and to make recommendations.


That the Committee do consist of Thirteen Members.
The Committee was accordingly nominated of Mr. Michael Brotherton, Mr. John Cronin, Sir William Elliott, Mrs. Winifred Ewing, Mr. Bruce George, Mr. William Hamilton, Mrs. Lena Jeger, Mr. Patrick Mayhew, Mrs. Millie Miller, Mr. Eric Moonman, Sir George Sinclair, Mrs. Ann Taylor and Sir George Young.


That the Committee have power to send for persons, papers and records; to sit notwithstanding any adjournment of the House; to adjourn from place to place; to report from time to time; and to report Minutes of Evidence from time to time.


That Three be the Quorum of the Committee.—[Mr. Walter Harrison.]


Motion made, and Question proposed, That this House do now adjourn.—[ Mr. Stoddart.]