Skip to main content

Colleges Of Education (Closures)

Volume 886: debated on Thursday 13 February 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science which colleges of education were closed down in the academic year 1974–75 and how many teacher-training places were lost through each of these closures; and which colleges of education are likely to cease fulfilling their teacher-training purpose during the next three academic years and how many places will be lost through each of these closures.

It has so far been decided that the following five colleges should cease to admit students to initial teacher training as from the dates shown:

  • Alnwick, Northumberland (September 1975).
  • Mary Ward, Nottinghamshire (September 1975).
  • Radbrook, Salop (September 1975).
  • Saffron Walden, Essex (September 1975).
  • St. Paul's Newbold Revel, Warwickshire (September 1976).
The five colleges between them provide about 2,000 places. When a college of education ceases to admit students to initial teacher training the Government and the local education authority will wherever possible ensure that the vacated places are used for other educational purposes. It will not be possible to say how many other colleges may have to cease to admit students to initial teacher training until the current review of teacher supply policy is completed.