Skip to main content

Warnock Committee

Volume 886: debated on Friday 14 February 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science if he will publish a complete list of the members of the Warnock Committee.

The members of the Warnock Committee are:

  • Mrs. H. M. Warnock, Research Fellow in Philosophy at Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford (Chairman).
  • Mr. G. V. Cooke, County Education Officer, Lincolnshire (Vice-Chairman).
  • Mrs. J. Bisby, Senior careers officer, Sheffield.
  • Sir Edward Britton, Retiring General Secretary of NUT.
  • Miss M. Cairley, Assistant Head of Kirkriggs School for Physically Handicapped and ESN children, Glasgow.
  • Dr. I. Chesham, Specialist in community medicine (child health), Cheshire Area Health Authority.
  • Mr. D. Coe, Assistant Director, Middlesex Polytechnic.
  • Mr. G. H. Dalziel, Headmaster, Odsal House School for the Deaf, Bradford.
  • Mr. R. A. Davis, Headmaster, Pindar Comprehensive School, Scarborough.
  • Dr. R. M. Forrester, Consultant paediatrician. Royal Albert Edward Infirmary, Wigan, and consultant paediatrician to the Royal National Institute for the Blind.
  • Professor P. J. Graham, Consultant Psychiatrist, Hospital for Sick Children, Great Ormond Street.
  • Mr. D. Guthrie, Director, Action Research for the Crippled Child.
  • Mr. J. Harding, Member of Education and Training Committee of Scottish CBI.
  • Mr. L. Macho, Headmaster, Pen-y-bryn ESM (M) School, Swansea.
  • Mr. J. Michie, Director of Education, Aberdeenshire, and Director of Education designate for the Grampian Region.
  • Mr. P. Priestley, Head of Special Educational Services Division, Edinburgh Education Authority.
  • Mr. G. P. Newton, Director of Social Services, Wiltshire.
  • Mr. E. J. Richards, Assistant Education Officer for Special Education, Clwyd LEA.
  • Lady Roth, JP, Chairman of governors of Feversham non-maintained special school for maladjusted children, Newcastle.
  • Mrs. M. E. Thruston, Community Nurse Training Officer, Croydon Area Health Authority.
  • Mrs. S. Tumim, Parent of two hearing impaired children.
  • Dr. M. Tyson, Senior educational psychologist, and adviser for special education. Hounslow LEA.
  • Professor P. Williams, Professor of Education, Open University.
  • Mr. D. Winnard, Formerly Secretary, TUC Education Committee.
  • Mr. D. P. T. Woodgate, Headmaster, Priory Meadow School for maladjusted children, Clacton.
  • Mr. P. Young, Tutor, Cambridge Institute of Education.

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science whether there is a parent of a deaf child on the Warnock Committee which is reviewing educational provision for handicapped children; and, if not, if he will consider appointing one.

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science whether the Warnock Committee is prepared to receive representations from parents of handicapped children in regard to educational provision for school-leavers who are handicapped; and, if so, if he will publish in the Official Report to whom, and where, parents can write.

The committee will welcome evidence from parents of handicapped children among other interested bodies and individuals. Evidence should be submitted by 31st July 1975 to the Secretary, Committee of Enquiry into Special Education, c/o Department of Education and Science, Elizabeth House, York Road, London SE1 7PH. This invitation has already been given wide publicity.

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science if he will ask the Warnock Committee to make an interim report on the problems of deaf school leavers.

No. It is for the committee to decide whether there are matters in which it wishes to report separately to my right hon. Friend.