Skip to main content


Volume 887: debated on Monday 24 February 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

Lords Amendment: No. 54, in page 35, leave out lines 1 to 12.

Government amendment to Lords Amendment No. 54—to disagree, formally.

Motion made, and Question proposed, That this House doth disagree with the Lords in the said amendment.—[ Mr. Kaufman.]

On a point of order, Mr. Deputy Speaker. You are putting this amendment formally, but I think that it is in order to call a separate Division on this matter.

Division No. 106.]


[1.09 a.m.

Archer, PeterFord, BenMulley, Rt Hon Frederick
Armstrong, ErnestForrester, JohnMurray, Rt Hon Ronald King
Bagier, Gordon A. T.Fowler, Gerald (The Wrekin)Newens, Stanley
Bates, AlfFreeson, ReginaldNoble, Mike
Bean, R. E.Golding, JohnOvenden, John
Bishop, E. S.Graham, TedPalmer, Arthur
Blenkinsop, ArthurGrocott, BruceParry, Robert
Boardman, H.Hamilton, James (Bothwell)Pavitt, Laurie
Boothroyd, Miss BettyHardy, PeterPrescott, John
Bray, Dr JeremyHarper, JosephPrice C. (Lewisham W)
Brown, Ronald (Hackney S)Harrison, Walter (Wakefield)Richardson, Miss Jo
Callaghan, Jim (Middleton & P)Hoyle, Doug (Nelson)Roberts, Gwilym (Cannock)
Canavan, DennisHughes, Mark (Durham)Rodgers, George (Chorley)
Cant, R. B.Jeger, Mrs LenaRyman, John
Clemitson, IvorJohn, BrynmorSandelson, Neville
Cocks, Michael (Bristol S)Johnson, James (Hull West)Shaw, Arnold (Ilford South)
Cohen, StanleyJohnson, Walter (Derby S)Short, Mrs Renée (Wolv NE)
Colquhoun, Mrs MaureenJudd, FrankSilverman, Julius
Conlan, BernardKaufman, GeraldSkinner, Dennis
Cook, Robin F. (Edin C)Lambie, DavidSmall, William
Corbett, RobinLamond, JamesSpearing, Nigel
Cox, Thomas (Tooting)Latham, Arthur (Paddington)Stallard, A. W.
Craigen. J. M. (Maryhill)Lee, JohnStoddart, David
Crosland, Rt Hon AnthonyLyons, Edward (Bradford W)Stott, Roger
Cryer, BobMcCartney, HughTaylor, Mrs Ann (Bolton W)
Cunningham, G. (Islington S)McElhone, FrankThomas, Ron (Bristol NW)
Davies, Bryan (Enfield N)MacFarquhar, RoderickThorne, Stan (Preston South)
Dean, Joseph (Leeds West)Mackenzie, GregorTinn, James
Dempsey, JamesMcMillan, Tom (Glasgow C)Walden, Brian (B'ham, L'dyw'd)
Dormand, J. D.Madden, MaxWalker, Terry (Kingswood)
Douglas-Mann, BruceMagee, BryanWard, Michael
Dunn, James A.Mahon, SimonWhite, Frank R. (Bury)
Dunwoody, Mrs GwynethMarks, KennethWhitehead, Phillip
Edge, GeoffMarshall, Dr Edmund (Goole)Willey, Rt Hon Frederick
Ellis, John (Brigg & Scun)Mendelson, JohnWise, Mrs Audrey
English, MichaelMikardo, IanWrigglesworth, Ian
Evans, Ioan (Aberdare)Millan, BruceTELLERS FOR THE AYES:
Evans John (Newton)Miller, Mrs Millie (Ilford N)Mr. Donald Coleman and
Faulds, AndrewMitchell, R. C. (Soton, Itchen)Miss Margaret Jackson.


Body, RichardCope, JohnMayhew, Patrick
Bowden, A. (Brighton, Kemptown)Hurd Douglas
Budgen, NickMawby, RayTELLERS FOR THE NOES:
Bulmer, EsmondMr. Michael Latham and
Mr. Tony Durant.

Lords amendment disagreed to.

Subsequent Lords amendments agreed to.

Committee appointed to draw up Reasons to be assigned to the Lords for disagreeing to certain of their amendments to the Bill: Mr. Thomas Cox, Mr. Reginald Freeson, Mr. Gerald Kaufman,

It is in order to call a separate Division, but the amendment has been discussed.

Question put, That this House doth disagree with the Lords in the said amendment:—

The House divided: Ayes 114, Noes 8.

Mr. Timothy Raison and Mr. Hugh Rossi; three to be the quorum.—[ Mr. Freeson.]

To withdraw immediately.

Reasons for disagreeing to certain of the Lords amendments reported, and agreed to; to be communicated to the Lords.