Skip to main content

Tree Council

Volume 887: debated on Wednesday 5 March 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment what organisations are represented on the Tree Council.

The following are members of the Council:

  • Arboricultural Association.
  • Association of District Councils.
  • Association of Professional Foresters.
  • British Association of Landscape Industries.
  • Civic Trust.
  • Council for the Protection of Rural England.
  • Country Landowners Association.
  • Farming and Wildlife Advisory Group.
  • Home Timber Merchant's Association.
  • Horticultural Trades Association.
  • Institute of Foresters.
  • Institute of Landscape Architects.
  • Institute of Park and Recreation Adminitsration.
  • Men of the Trees.
  • National Farmers Union.
  • National Federation of Women's Institutes.
  • National Trust.
  • Royal Forestry Society.
  • Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors.
  • Royal Town Planning Institute.
  • Timber Growers' Organisation.
  • Trees for People.
The following are represented by Observers:

  • Association of County Councils.
  • Council for Environmental Education.
  • Countryside Commission.
  • Department of the Environment.
  • Forestry Commission.
  • Royal Horticultural Society.

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment what Government assistance is currently given to the Tree Council; and what further financial and administrative assistance is contemplated in the year 1975–76.

Subject to parliamentary approval and to certain conditions, a grant of £6,000 will be made available to the Tree Council in 1975–76 compared with £5,000 in 1974–75. In addition, the services of a full-time secretary will continue to be provided for the time being.