Skip to main content

Departmental Technology Division

Volume 888: debated on Monday 10 March 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Energy what is his policy towards the size of the science and technology division of the Department of Energy; if he will list in the Official Report its current strength in each discipline there represented; and if he will make a statement.

The Energy Technology Division of the Department of Energy provides the technological input into the work of the policy divisions. It will be maintained at the strength required for this purpose, bearing in mind the ancillary rĂ´he Energy Technology Support Unit at Harwell, the Atomic Energy Authority more generally, and the R. & D. capabilities of the nationalised energy industries.The Energy Technology Division currently has on its strength 14 professionally qualified officers with experience in the following scientific disciplines:

Fuel Technology4
Gas Engineering1
Electrical Engineering2
Industrial Chemistry1
Mechanical Engineering4
Chemical Engineering1
Information science1