Skip to main content

Government Advertising

Volume 888: debated on Monday 10 March 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Minister for the Civil Service what is the membership of the Independent Advisory Committee on Government Advertising; by whom they are appointed; and by what method.

Appointments to the Independent Advisory Committee on Government Advertising are made by Civil Service Department Ministers. The committee is chaired by Sir David Barran, Director of Shell Transport and Trading Company. Other members of the Committee are Mr. W. B. Morrell, Managing Director of Westminster Press Limited; Sir George Pope, Director of Times Newspapers; Mr. Howard Thomas, Chairman of Thames Television, and Mr. Frank Rogers, Chairman, East Midland and Allied Press Limited.Members of the committee are chosen to ensure that the advice of widely experienced commercial users of advertising agencies and of media operators is available to the Government.