Skip to main content

Traffic Commissioners

Volume 901: debated on Thursday 20 March 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will publish in the Official Report the names of the South-Eastern Traffic Commissioners, the date of each appointment and the nominating body concerned.

The Traffic Commissioners for the South Eastern Traffic Area for 1974–75 are:COUNTY PANEL AND NOMINATING AUTHORITY

Traffic Commissioner

  • Councillor L. S. White. MBE (to 14/11/77).
  • Hampshire County Council.
  • Deputy Traffic Commissioners
  • Councillor W. G. Wareham. Dorset County Council.
  • Councillor L. E. Williams. East Sussex County Council.
  • Councillor R. Darken. Isle of Wight County Council.
  • Mr. K. Summerfield. Oxfordshire County Council.
  • Councillor F. W. E. Keen. West Sussex County Council.
  • Councillor R. F. Tolley. Surrey County Council.
  • District Panel
  • Traffic Commissioner
  • Councillor J. C. Buck (to 14/11/75). Medway Borough Council.
  • Deputy Traffic Commissioners
  • Councillor W. F. Brown. Bracknell District Council.
  • Councillor J. Brown. Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead.
  • Councillor H. Cramp. Hove Borough Council.
  • Councillor N. F. N. Norris. Eastleigh Borough Council.
  • Councillor G. S. Flory, Gosport Borough Council.
  • Councillor Mrs. A. M. Williamson. Dover District Council.
  • Councillor W. H. Buck. Crawley Borough Council.
  • Councillor D. Hill. Worthing Borough Council.
  • Councillor A. C. E. Spraggs. Portsmouth City Council.
  • Councillor R. T. Tragett. Surrey Heath Borough Council.

All appointments were effective from 15th November 1974. Two more deputy traffic commissioners may be appointed from the county panel. Traffic commissioners are appointed for one, two or three years, and may be reappointed. Deputy traffic commissioners are selected for one year; they serve during the illness, incapacity or absence of the commissioners and their actual appointments are for particular sittings or short spells, as and when required. The full-time Chairman of Commissioners is Major General A. F. J. Elmslie, CB, CBE.