Skip to main content

Dependent And Associatedterritories

Volume 889: debated on Wednesday 26 March 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs what was the population of dependent and associated territories of the British Commonwealth at the latest available date.

Statistics at present available give the population of British Dependent Territories and Associated States as 5,215,190, made up as follows:

Dependent Territories:
British Antratic Territory*
British Indian Ocean Territory*
British Solomon Islands Protectorate176,000
British Virgin Islands 10,500
Cayman Islands11,000
Falkland Islands and Dependencies2,000
Gilbert & Ellice Islands Colony59,000
Hong Kong4,200,000
New Hebrides (Anglo-French Condominium)86.000
St. Helena and Dependencies (Ascension Island & Tristan da Cunha)5,500
Turks & Caicos Islands6,000
Associated States:
St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla57,000
St. Lucia105,000
St. Vincent91,000
(Additionally, Rhodesia, which is constitutionally a dependent territory in a state of rebellion against the Crown. has a population of 6,100,000.)

* No permanent population.