Skip to main content

Motor Rallies Advisory Committee

Volume 892: debated on Wednesday 21 May 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment whether he has yet appointed a chairman to the Motor Rallies Advisory Committee.

I am pleased to announce that Lord Montagu of Beaulieu has accepted the invitation of myself and my right hon. Friends the Secretaries of State for Scotland and Wales to chair this committee. The membership has been revised and is now as follows:Mr. F. A. Butters, MIPR, AMIPA. Association of County Councils.Mr. J. W. R. Graham. Association of Metropolitan Authorities.Mr. G. Bowden. Association of District Councils.Nomination awaited. Convention of Scottish Local Authorities.Mr. W. Farley, MC, QPM. Association of Chief Police Officers (England and Wales).Mr. J. Russell. Association of Chief Constables in Scotland.Mr. J. Kemsley. Royal Automobile Club.Major R. Tennant-Reid, MC. Royal Scottish Automobile Club.Mr. M. V. Osmond, MA. Council for the Protection of Rural England.Mr. D. M. G. Chidson, MC. Caravan Club.Mr. J. Whyman. Vintage Sports Car Club Ltd.Mr. R. Seth-Smith. Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders Ltd.Mr. D. Paling. Federation of Midland Motor Clubs.Mr. R. W. Bracher. Auto-Cycle Union.Mr. D. B. Smith. Federation of British Scooter Clubs.Mr. John Brown. Independent.Mrs. Douglas Jay. Independent.Meetings are also attended by assessors from the following bodies:Department of the Environment.Scottish Development Department.Welsh Office.Countryside Commission.