Skip to main content

Secondary Schools (Reorganisation)

Volume 893: debated on Monday 16 June 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science which local education authorities have put forward secondary school reorganisation schemes involving transfer at the age of 14; which were accepted; and on what dates.

Complete information in the form requested could be obtained only at disproportionate cost. The following local education authorities have introduced or now have approved to introduce schemes involving the transfer of pupils at the age of 14 in all or part of their areas:

  • Barnet
  • Bradford
  • Bromley
  • Croydon
  • Derbyshire
  • Dorset
  • Enfield
  • Essex
  • Gateshead
  • Hounslow
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Oldham
  • Redbridge
  • Rochdale
  • Suffolk
  • Waltham
  • Forest
  • Wiltshire
  • Worcestershire
With the exception of a scheme involving certain schools in the Markfield area of Leicestershire, all the above were approved before this Government came into office.