Skip to main content

Schools, Lanarkshire

Volume 895: debated on Wednesday 18 June 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland if he will list in the Official Report the schools in Lanarkshire which are short of teachers; of what grades of teacher there is a shortage; and if he will circulate to the local education committee his proposals for the pupil-teacher ratio for each school.

School census returns for primary schools at September 1974 were measured against the minimum staff complements prescribed in the Schools (Scotland) Code (Amendment No 1 Regulations) 1972. The return for each secondary school included a comparison with a "notional complement" based on proposals in the Report "Secondary School Staffing" for achievement by session 1977–78, but excluding a special allowance for probationer teachersThe schools in Lanarkshire where staffing fell short of these complements are listed below. I have no proposals for pupil-teacher ratios for individual schools; the staff complements systems are known to all education authorities.

Primary Schools

  • Airdrie, Dunrobin
  • Budhill
  • Bishopbriggs, Meadowburn
  • Coatbridge, Gartsherrie Academy
  • Coatbridge, St. Bernard's
  • Crawfordjohn
  • East Kilbride, St. Hilary's
  • Harthill
  • Mount Vernon
  • Newarthill
  • Shotts, St. Patrick's
  • Swinton
  • Tannochshide, Burnhead
  • Viewpark, St. Gabriel's

Secondary Schools

  • Airdrie Academy
  • Airdrie, Caldervale High
  • Ardrie, St. Margaret's High
  • Bellshill Academy
  • Bellshill, St. Saviour's High
  • Biggar High
  • Bishopbriggs High
  • Blantyre High
  • Bothwell, Elmwood
  • Cambuslang, Trinity High
  • Carluke High
  • Chryston High
  • Coatbridge, Columba High
  • Coatbridge, Rosehall High
  • Coatbridge, St. Ambrose High
  • Coatbridge, St. Patrick's High
  • East Kilbride, Claremont High
  • East Kilbride, Duncanrig
  • East Kilbride, Hunter High
  • Garrowhill, Bannerman High
  • Hamilton Grammar
  • Hamilton, Eamock High
  • Hamilton, Holy Cross High
  • Hamilton, John Ogilvie High
  • Lanark Grammar
  • Lanark, St. Mary's
  • Larkhall Academy
  • Lesmehagow High
  • Motherwell, Braidhurst High
  • Motherwell, Dalziel High
  • Motherwell, Our Lady's High
  • Rutherglen, Cathkin High
  • Rutherglen, Stonelaw High
  • Shotts, Calderhead High
  • Strathaven Academy
  • Tannochside, St. Catherine's
  • Uddingston Grammar
  • Wishaw, Garrion Academy
  • Wishaw High
  • Wishaw, Coltness High
  • Wishaw, St. Aidan's High