Skip to main content

Power Stations

Volume 894: debated on Monday 23 June 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Energy (1) how many applications for planning consent or investment consent for new coal-fired and oil-fired power stations, respectively, are now being considered by him;(2) which coal-fired and oil-fired power stations, respectively, have received planning consent but await financial consent.

The Central Electricity Generating Board (CEGB) has applied for consent under Section 2 of the Electric Lighting Act 1909, together with deemed planning permission under Section 40(1) of the Town and Country Planning Act 1971, for four proposed oil-fired power stations. No applications have been made for new coal-fired power stations.The above consent and deemed planning permission but not investment approval has been given for the following power stations:

Killingholme, Lincs., Inswork Point, Cornwall: oil-fired.
Drax B, Yorkshire, West Burton B, Notts: coal-fired.