Skip to main content

Ministerial Responsibilities

Volume 897: debated on Monday 4 August 1975

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Wales if he will publish in the Official Report the different spheres of responsibility of the two Under-Secretaries of State in his Department and list those matters he has reserved for himself.

I have overall responsibility for all the work of my Department. The two Under-Secretaries of State are available to assist me in all matters affecting my Department. Each has special responsibility for certain subjects, as follows:Under-Secretary of State (Mr. Barry Jones): Health & Social Work, Education and the Arts, Roads, Forestry, Tourism, Ancient Monuments, National Library & Museum of Wales, Sport.Under-Secretary of State (Mr. Alec Jones): Town & Country Planning, Community Ownership of Development Land, Housing, Local Government and Environmental Protection, Derelict Land, Water.All other matters, including economic, industrial and financial affairs, European matters, agriculture, the Welsh language and devolution fall directly to me. On devolution, I am assisted by my hon. Friend the Member for Rhondda (Mr. Alec Jones).