Skip to main content

National Parks

Volume 929: debated on Friday 1 April 1977

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will publish a list of all the national park authorities and the date on which they each publish their national park plan, indicating if any of them will have failed to publish their plans by 1st April 1977.

I understand that four national park authorities are likely to publish their plans in April. These are Dartmoor, Brecon Beacons, Snowdonia and Yorkshire Dales. The remainder—Exmoor, the Lake District and the Pembrokeshire Coast—will follow later. I am advised by the Countryside Commission that, given the limited staffs of the national park authorities and the need for full public consultations, faster progress could not reasonably have been expected.