Skip to main content

Council Of Europe And Western European Union (Delegation)

Volume 929: debated on Thursday 7 April 1977

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Prime Minister if he will announce the composition of the United Kingdom delegation to the Consultative Assembly of the Council of Europe.

The Consultative Assembly of the Council of Europe will be meeting in Strasbourg from 25th to 29th April. I have appointed 18 delegates from the Parliament of the United Kingdom. The delegation this year will consist of eight Members of the Labour Party, eight Members of the Conservative Party, one Member of the Liberal Party and one Member of the Ulster Unionist Party. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates.The appointments of representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the Leaders of those parties concerned.The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the Assembly of the Western European Union.Representatives from the Government Benches will be:

The hon. Member for Houghton-le-Spring (Mr. Urwin), who will act as Leader.
The hon. Members for:
  • Warley, East (Mr. Faulds)
  • Rother Valley (Mr. Hardy)
  • Gloucestershire, West (Mr. Watkinson)
  • Newham, North-West (Mr. Lewis)
  • Farnworth (Mr. Roper)
  • Derby, North (Mr. Whitehead)
  • and the Lord Peddie.

Representatives from the Conservative Party will be:

The hon. Members for:
  • Torbay (Sir F. Bennett)
  • Southend, West (Mr. Channon)
  • Aldershot (Mr. Critchley)
  • Harborough (Mr. Farr)
  • Solihull (Mr. Grieve)
  • Norfolk, South-West (Mr. Hawkins)
  • Harrow, West (Mr. Page)
  • Sevenoaks (Sir J. Rodgers).

The representative from the Liberal Party will be the Lord Beaumont.

The representative from the Ulster Unionist Party will be the right hon. Member for Belfast, East (Mr. Craig).

The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates:

From the Government Benches:
The hon. Members for:
  • Sunderland, South (Mr. Bagier)
  • Edinburgh, Central (Mr. Cook)
  • Glasgow, Maryhill (Mr. Craigen)
  • Kingston - upon - Hull, Central (Mr. McNamara)
  • Dudley, West (Dr. Phipps)
  • Hammersmith, North (Mr. Tomney)
  • Liverpool, Walton (Mr. Heffer)
  • and the Lord Hughes.
From the Conservative Party:
The hon. Members for:
  • Harrogate (Mr. Banks)
  • Bournemouth, East (Mr. Cordle)
  • Harrow, Central (Mr. Grant)
  • Twickenham (Mr. Jessel)
  • Birmingham, Edgbaston (Mrs. Knight)
  • Hastings (Mr. Warren)
  • The Lord Duncan-Sandys
  • and the Lord Selsdon.
From the Liberal Party:
The hon. Member for Berwick-upon-Tweed (Mr. Beith).
From the Scottish National Party:
The hon. Member for Clackmannan and East Stirlingshire (Mr. Reid).