Skip to main content

Ministerial Appointments

Volume 932: debated on Thursday 19 May 1977

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Transport whether he will list all the public appointments for which he is responsible, the names of the present holders of these appointments and their salaries and allowances.

The paid appointments are those shown under British Railways Board, British Transport Docks Board, National Bus Company, National Ports Council, and Port Authorities on pages 34, 37, 39 and 40 of "A Directory of Paid Appointments made by Ministers" issued by the Civil Service Department and published by HMSO in April 1976. Unpaid appointments are made to the bodies listed below. The other particulars sought by my hon. Friend are not readily available and could only be collected at disproportionate cost to public funds.

Name of BodyNo. of Appointments
Advisory Committee on the Landscape Treatment of Trunk Roads20
Berwick-on-Tweed Harbour Commission2
Cattewater Harbour Commission1
Cowes Harbour Commission1
Eastern Traffic Commissioners16
East Midlands Traffic Commissioners18
Falmouth Harbour Commission1
Harwich Harbour Conservancy Board4
Humber Local Advisory Board (of the BTDD)17
King's Lynn Conservancy Board2
Lancaster Port Commission2
Metropolitan Traffic Commissioners22
Milford Haven Conservancy Board8
Motor Rallies Advisory Committee20
Northern Traffic Commissioners20
North Western Traffic Commissioners28
Poole Harbour Commission2
Railways and Coastal Shipping Committee3
Scottish Traffic Commissioners18
Southampton Local Advisory Board (of the BTDD)16
South Eastern Traffic Commissioners21
South Wales Traffic Commissioners9
Teignmouth Harbour Commission2
Western Traffic Commissioners17
West Midlands Traffic Commissioners11
Yorkshire Traffic Commissioners27