Skip to main content

Ministerial Appointments

Volume 932: debated on Thursday 19 May 1977

The text on this page has been created from Hansard archive content, it may contain typographical errors.

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science whether she will list all the public appointments for which she is responsible, the names of the present holders of those appointments and their salaries and allowances.

I regret that the full information is not available, except at disproportionate cost. The following details apply to paid appointments only:

Agricultural Research Council

Chairman (£1,000)

Hon. J. J. Astor, M.B.E.

Members (£750)

W. A. Biggar, Sir Hugh Ford, E. M. W. Griffith, Professor J. L. Harley, Professor Henry Harris, Professor J. Heslop Harrison, Professor D. L. Hughes, Professor J. D. Hutchinson, Professor Sir Bernard Katz, Professor J. Mandelstam, J. S. Martin, Professor K. Mather, Professor A. Neuberger, Earl of Selborne, Viscount Trenchard.

Natural Environment Research Council

Chairman (£7,000)

Sir Peter Kent.

Members (£750)

Professor J. W. L. Beament, Professor T. J. Chandler, Professor R. B. Clark, Professor A. H. Cook, Professor G. M. Dunnet, H. Fish, Professor J. L. Harper, Professor F. G. T. Holliday, Professor E. Naylor, Professor J. Sutton, Professor E. A. Vincent, G. Williams, Dr. W. R. Boon.

Science Research Council

Chairman (£14,330)

Professor Sir Sam Edwards.

Members (£750)

Professor G. Allen, Professor Sir Granville Beynan, Dr. J. Binks, Professor W. E. Burcham, Dr. P. F. Chester, Professor H. Elliot, Professor W. E. J. Farvis, Professor J. H. Horlock, Dr. A. T. James, Professor J. L. Jinks, Dr. A. J. Kennedy, Sir Norman Lindop, Professor J. C. Polkinghorne, Professor Sir George Porter.

Social Science Research Council

Chairman (£7,000)

Derek Robinson.

Members (£750)

Professor W. Brass, D. Brooks, Sir James Dunnett, Professor P. G. Hall, Professor R. Illsley, Professor M. Kogan, Ms Ann Lapping, Professor A. C. Mayer, Professor M. Peston, Dr. S. Rose, W. G. Runciman, Professor H. R. Schaffer, Professor B. E. Supple, Mrs. D. E. C. Wedderburn, N. Willis, Professor M. J. Wise, Professor J. Wrigley.

Medical Research Council

Chairman (£1,000)

His Grace the Duke of Northumberland.

Members (£750)

Professor A. J. Buller, Professor W. J. H. Butterfield, Professor A. R. Currie, Professor A. C. Dornhorst, Professor A. P. M. Forrest, Professor I. M. Glynn, Rt. Hon. Earl of Halsbury, Dr. H. Kay, Helen Muir, Professor D. C. Phillips, Cicely M. S. Saunders, Professor J. N. Walton.

Advisory Board for the Research Councils

Chairman (£2,500)

Professor Sir Frederick Stewart.

Members (daily fee £17—rarely claimed)

Professor C. C. Booth, Sir Alan Cottrell, Sir Frederick Dainton (Chairman U.G.C.), Professor Sir Sam Edwards (Chairman S.R.C.), Mrs. J. E. Floud, Sir Peter Kent (Chairman N.E.R.C), Dr. E. W. Parkes, Derek Robinson (Chairman S.S.R.C), Professor T. R. E. Southward, Dr. A. Spinks.

British Library Board

Chairman, part-time (£5,115 p.a.)

Lord Eccles

Chief Executive Deputy Chairman (£13,740 p.a.)

Dr. H. T. Hookway

Director-General of the Lending Div (£10,605)

M. B. Line

Director-General of the Reference Div. (£11,117)

D. T. Richnell

Director-General of the Bibliographic Services Div. (£9,188)

R. E. Coward

Members (£1,000 each)

Dr. J. Barrett, Sir John Brown, Sir Denis Hamilton, Mrs. Allison Munro, Dr. A. E. Ritchie, J. Steven Watson, Professor Glanmor Williams, A. Wilson.

Computer Board for Universities and Research Councils

Chairman (£750)

Dr. A. H. Chilvers

Members (daily fee £17)

Dr. J. L. Alty, Professor F. H. Sumner, Professor R. F. Churchhouse, Professor J. H. Merriman, Professor R. D. Weir, Professor D. S. Jones, Professor R. J. Elliot.

Burnham Committee

Chairman (nil)

J. S. Wordie, CBE

Schools Council

Chairman (nil)

Sir Alex Smith

Governing Body of Centre for Information and Advice on Educational Disadvantage

Chairman (nil)

Sir Alec Clegg

Director (£9,808)

HMI Mr. C. D. Roberts

Technician Education Council

Chairman (£1,000)

Mr. Neale Raine

Business Education Council

Chairman (£4,800)

J. M. Bruce Lockhart

University Grants Committee

Chairman (£17,175)

Sir Frederick Dainton

Members (15 at £750) (5 at daily fee £17)

Professor R. J. C. Atkinson, Sir Donald Barron, Professor A. J. Brown, D. P. J. Browning, Professor Violet R. Cane, Professor K. M. Clayton, Professor J. Cruickshank, J. M. Ferguson, Professor T. W. Goodwin, Professor B. G. Gowenlock, Professor J. C. Gunn, Miss M. Hulme, Professor N. C. Hunt, Professor D. S. Jones, J. Munn, Professor Barbara M. H. Strang, Professor Sir Charles Stuart-Harris, Professor J. C. West, Dr. E. Anne Whiteman.

Crafts Advisory Committee

Acting Chairman (£1,000)

Sir Duncan Oppenheim